Zini, me & life in general

Where was ZM?!?!?

Well as some of you know, my PC had broke down (Thanks to frequent power swings at Noida). And i was out of action.

I am still in the process of reading the posts from my blogroll and commenting on them. Meanwhile i’ll update you on what all we did…

– Zini started School………Yes, the play-school!!! And every morning she goes in with her teacher, without crying or throwing tantrums (touch wood on that)….

– I was initially so clue-less about what to do in absence of Zini, that i even pressed the cloths!!! I mean can you believe it?!?! i hate even folding the cloths and here i am pressing the cloths!!!

– I met a few mommies at Zini’s school and invited them over at my place, so while our kids were at the school, we moms chatted at my home πŸ™‚

– I suffered from severe withdrawal symptoms due to absence of internet ;)…

– I also learnt that, so many day-to-day things that we take for granted, if we don’t have them we just go mad…Like electricity (In Ahmedabad, power outage was a big thing, here, it’s an every day story),

water (Our R.O. broke down and we didn’t have drinking water, so i had to fill up bottles from our neighbour’s home!!),

Computer and internet (The breakdown made me realize, how addicted i am to it)

– We finally bought a UPS to protect our computer πŸ™‚

– I learnt the breathingΒ technique for my swimming and also learnt to swim on my back, i also learnt a new stroke, though i don’t know the name of it 😦

– I have been cooking up a storm in the kitchen (Don’t worry, noΒ casualtiesΒ ;)). I have been making Khaman Dhokla, Masala Puri, Shahi paneer with tomatoes, Medu Vada, garlic rolls, breads and Masala Oats :). You can find all the recipes here.

Comments on: "Where was ZM?!?!?" (33)

  1. Glad to see you back here.

    So the internet-break worked good for you. True, without some things, life shows us an alternative way of living.

    Wohoo…hopping over to the food page

  2. ZM!!! So good to see you back. Missed you.
    Good to hear that Zini started school πŸ™‚
    “..so many day-to-day things that we take for granted, if we don’t have them we just go mad..” so true especially about electricity. I realize this when I go out of Mumbai.
    Wow! you are cooking so many things without any misadventures πŸ˜‰
    Would love to try them all… hopping over to see πŸ™‚

    • Hey Thanks, I too missed you guys…
      Yeah, i have been cooking so many things, but i had a little mis-adventure with Banana bread…It tasted more like Banana Appam that my friend from Kerala used to bring, but it was tasty neverthless πŸ™‚

  3. I can’t try your recipes because certain people have monopolized the kitchen in my house. Earlier, when I was living alone, I tried my hand at certain things though – I made sambar and rasam and both tasted exactly the same! Before I was able to overcome from that shock and become a master chef, I came back to my house! But I am allowed to press clothes though. Lucky me πŸ™‚

    Destination Infinity

  4. Glad to have you back ZM! Zini and playschool – that’s a milestone indeed. Will check your foodblog, the recipes sound mouthwatering!! And you go girl, with your swimming! All the best with the power situation, a change at the Centre is much needed!

    • Hey Thanks a lot πŸ™‚
      I’ll write about the play school experience soon πŸ™‚
      Give the recipes a try, let me know if you need some help πŸ™‚
      I am not sure if the power situation is ever going to improve here. Change in the centre too won’t help much though…

  5. Wow! So, Zini has started her playschool ! That itself must be so exciting for the two of you πŸ™‚
    You are close to becoming a swimming pro! I guess you can indulge guiltlessly in your ‘food’ adventures as you have another way to burn up the extra cals-swimming ! πŸ™‚

    • Yes, finally she started the school πŸ™‚
      Initially she was really really excited as i used to go with her. but now, as i have stopped going, she sometimes refuses to go, but when i remind her that her ma’am may be waiting for her than she agrees to go to school.
      She says Bye and gives me a flying kiss and goes to her class.
      Arey, i am no where near in becoming a swimming pro. i realized that “deep” side of our pool is actually not deep…when i stand, my legs still touch the floor of the pool πŸ™‚ so still i have no confidence of going in real deep pool 😦
      HeHe, i have so much of fat in my body that even after swimming everyday, i’ll be able to indulge only after a year!!!

      • So cute πŸ™‚ They all start loving their teachers very soon.

        LOL on the swimming pool depth πŸ˜€ But I am sure you will get used to the deeper pools also eventually.

      • Yeah, it’s just a month now and she keeps taking her teacher’s name every now and then!!!
        Let’s hope i get the chance to go to an actually deep pool πŸ™‚

  6. hellllyo !! *waves hi*
    so u r finally back.. i was wondering where u vanished.. bur i dint have ur mail id..so could not bug u.:D
    seems like some broke -away-things spree is goin on in ur life..pehle computer n then the RO..;) hope both r doing gud now..
    Congrats to zini on her play school.. touchwood! she is having a good time..
    You were missed..
    n the power failure..i’m yet another being from north india.. n i had lived in noida too.. frequent power swings..
    n now the grid failure in north has crossed all limits.. ah!.
    I’ve been using internet on fone all the time since then..so much of addiction..:p

    • Hiiii Sugar, yes i am finally back πŸ™‚
      my mail id is techie2mom@gmail.com, you can bug me now πŸ˜‰
      yeah, yeah, the broke-away-things spree was really going on. both are fine now πŸ™‚
      Zini is enjoying the school, though she gives me the same reply everyday about what she did in the school and she never tells me what really she did there!!!!
      Oh, you have lived in Noida!!! then you can sure understand my frustration about power cuts….With Grid failures they are trying to create some sort of record (Olympic effect ;)), twice in 2 days!!!
      Yeah, this blogging and internet are pretty much addictive….

  7. Good to have you back. Lot many things broke down but the best thing is playschool. and I am really glad that Zini didn’t cry. Looks like she wanted the break from you too πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Jas πŸ™‚
      Yeah, even the broken things taught me few lessons πŸ™‚
      Playschool is definitely the best thing to happen…
      Hahaha, yeah probably, she too wanted a break πŸ˜‰

  8. So glad to hear Zini is taking to the new environment well. R also didn’t cry when he started school. Touchwood!
    LOL @ your withdrawal symptons. I get panic attacks even if I think of the comp breaking down and me being away from the internet. That much addicted I’ve become :-0
    My! you are really cooking up a storm in your kitchen..fab menu!
    good to see you back πŸ™‚

    • Yeah, she doesn’t cry, though one day after a weekend she cried a little, but as soon as she went inside the class, she stopped crying and started enjoying πŸ™‚
      We are seriously addicted to internet!!!
      Thanks Uma πŸ™‚

  9. So u have been quite busy haan? Hope all the gadgets are now in order πŸ™‚

    Zini has staretd play school? wow! We are thinking of enrolling Arnav, lets see. Good that she is taking it in her stride πŸ™‚

    And yes electricity is something that you take for granted. When I was in Ahmedabad I never gave it a thought, it was when I went visiting my parents in Benaras where it is easy to calculate the no of hours electricity is there that I realised we were blessed in Ahmedabad.

    Hoping to see u in full action πŸ™‚

    • All the gadgets are good now, we even bought a new one (UPS) to protect the old one!!!
      Hope Arnav’s play-school start goes smooth, all the best for that πŸ™‚
      Is it so bad in Benaras? The power situation is worsening in our country day by day…

  10. Wow…my son will start preschool soon! And can’t believe living without the internet even for a few hours 😦

  11. beautiful pics

  12. beautiful dishes just wished to see pics now i going to check the link
    before i can edit first post it got posted
    sorry for error

  13. Great to see you back in the blogworld ZM.. missed you!!!

    So.. a number of things happened eh? Zini started school?!?!?! I was wondering.. she just had her 2st birthday right? then I saw you mentioned playschool.. ha ha okie πŸ™‚ Its really a good sign she isnt throwing tantrums.. tocuhwood!

    We take a number of things for granted that only in their absence we know how much they mean to us… electricity and water are such things.. Power cuts are so frequent in Chennai these days.. In Bangalore.. I face water prob.. we cant have guests for more than 3 days… 😦

    I am going over to your food page right away… some of the names are too tempting πŸ˜€

    • Thanks a lot GB πŸ™‚
      Yeah, Zini is now 2 years 2 months old and already 1 month old at the school!!!!
      OMG!!! is the water situation so bad at B’lore?!? hope it gets better…

  14. opps!! I meant “2nd”

  15. good for you re, Zini took the change easily πŸ™‚ I’m still in dliemma whether to send her to play school or no 😦

    networking with mommies is a good idea πŸ™‚ that ways you also get to know new people and you know with whose children your daughter is bonding with πŸ™‚

    I know this feeling when the Internet is down or PC breaks !!! I almost start feeling terrible about my life πŸ˜‰ lol talk about addiction !

    Hope the water RO is reparied now?

    you’ve cooked a lot of food πŸ™‚ wow !!! checking the recipes now!

    • Yeah, i too was worried about whether she will go to school alone and i how will she cope being with new people. But she did well (touch wood)…
      But i prepared her a lot, by telling her stories of school and showing other kids going to school. i even took her to the school few times and let her play there (with permission from the school authorities, of course)…
      Yes, meeting other mommies was fun and i got to know a few things about school as well πŸ™‚
      Oh, i suffered from severe withdrawal symptoms πŸ˜‰
      Yeah, all the things are repaired now πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

