Zini, me & life in general

I remember when you came….you were so small, you were crying…..you ate, slept, cried, made some funny noise and that was pretty much….

Then you started smiling, i just went mad clicking all those sweet smiles….

You still continued to enchant me when you achieved rolling, laughing, crawling and finally walking!!!! I mean that small girl who just used to eat, sleep and cry could now walk!!! And i still went mad clicking all your antics…

Then came your first birthday and you knew how to throw tantrum, by your second birthday you mastered this art!!! Meanwhile you added many new words and tricks to your resume, and i still went mad trying to cope with that….

But all these while, you were still my little baby, who would hide behind me if a stranger tried to talk, would sleep with me, would want me to go with you on a play date to the neighbour’s place and come to me whenever you wanted something or wanted to complain about something. It was as if ours was a “Fevicol ka Mazboot Jod”,Β we were always seen in each others’ company….

But then, one fine day, you decided you want to go to your T didi’s home without mummy!!!! Were you growing up?! Then you started saying Bye-Bye to mummy when she went to swimming alone, of course you and your papa would have fun without mummy to put breaks!!!!

And then came a day for you to start the school. I had been preparing you for the day by telling you the stories of school, taking you to the school for some play sessions on swings and slides and showing that all your Didis and Bhaiyas go to school. You were very excited about going to school. Though i didn’t tell you one important fact, that your mummy will not go with you to school everyday.

Once in school, you took to the place like a fish to the water. You enjoyed playing with all the new Puzzles and toys, writing on the board with the chalk, dancing with your friends and N Ma’am and drinking water from your new bottle!!!

For the 1st day, you remained in the same room as mummy, but next day, when mummy said that you play with N ma’am, mummy will come back in some time…You immediately agreed with a smile, even giving me the look that “don’t worry, i’ll manage alright”….

And then at the end of the week, you spent almost all the time in a different room with your N ma’am and other friends…You came home and told me that “Didi roni-roni ki, Zini nahi ki” (Didi cried, Zini didn’t cry)!!! And on the day when i said that today mummy will go home after dropping you to school and said Bye-Bye, you didn’t cry, you went in holding hand of your teacher!!!!

We have our share of hiccups when sometimes you say that you don’t want to go to school (“Aaj school nahi jaana”) but when i remind you that your ma’am and friends might be waiting for you, you immediately get ready to go!!!

Yes, you are definitely growing up!!!!!

Now you don’t fit in my lap snugly the way you used to when you came to me….You do so many other things than just eat, sleep and cry!!! You talk so much!!!!

But most important of all, you are turning out to be anΒ independent and caring girl!!! Your teacher tells me you don’t cry for your mummy when in school because you know mummy will come to pick you up. You wait patiently for your turn at the slide and never push. You never hit any child and listen to your ma’am!!!

So my little girl, you are not that little any more!!! And I am proud of you…

P.S. But Zini, you know that for moms their children always remain CHILDREN, right?!?

Comments on: "The little girl is not so little any more….." (28)

  1. Heres wishing loads of love to the independent little girl πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    I loved this letter ZM!!

  2. I loved this post ZM. Muaah to the little Zini for turning out to be the caring and understanding girl that she is.
    I understand your emotions … seeing your little one growing up πŸ™‚ Big hugs.
    Lol on “Then came your first birthday and you knew how to throw tantrum, by your second birthday you mastered this art!” But how true πŸ™‚

  3. Lovely letter ZM. I am glad, Zini is enjoying her school. I can totally relate Zini’s school story to what mom used to tell of my first day at school. I was pretty much mommy’s daughter. I saw myself when I read about how Zini would come to you for everything. I was like her. But mom says, I happily went to the school not crying for a single day, which made all my relatives take back their words they said to my mom (like she was spoiling me etc etc). I am sure, Zini will have a very happy school life and continue to be independent and happy πŸ™‚

    Yes, for a mom – a girl will never be grown up πŸ™‚ Hugs!

    • Hey GB, Thanks πŸ™‚
      Wow, glad to have been able to remind you about your childhood….When a child happily goes to school, the mom is filled with different emotions, relief- as she is saved from the tantrum trauma, happiness- as this is the new milestone in the child’s life and now she will get some time, worry- as this is the 1st time the child will be alone with someone else, sadness – as now the little baby is not dependent on mummy…
      I can so relate to your mom πŸ™‚
      Thanks for the wishes, hugs to you too…

  4. why for moms.. even for dads its the same πŸ™‚

    beautiful post loved it , i am sure she is going ot read it one day and come and hug you .. god bless the “NOT so little one” πŸ™‚ my best wishes always

    • you are right, even dads have the same feelings when the little baby grows up πŸ™‚

      Thanks a lot for the wishes and the blessings…

  5. I guess these are the best times for a parent. Till the teen-age. Once there, kids want to be independent in a more realistic sense and are unstoppable! πŸ™‚

    Destination Infinity

    • Yeah, i too have heard that you enjoy your kid’s childhood most till she hits teenage….
      So, i’ll try to make most of this time πŸ™‚

  6. aww!! What a sweet post! Thank you so much for commenting at my blog!!

  7. She has indeed grown up πŸ™‚ That’s an achievement when she didn’t cry ..

  8. Absolutely loved this letter! It is always a little extra special when it’s a girl, isn’t it? πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Maddie πŸ™‚
      Well, i haven’t seen the childhood of a little boy, so i am not sure!!!
      But i guess the 1st day of school is always special….

  9. What a beautiful, heart-warming letter brimming in love and admiration for the little princess πŸ™‚
    Lots of love & hugs to Zini and her sweet mom πŸ™‚

  10. hi there! i should have come here long time back, but then your comments on my blog posts ended up in spam, and i fount it out today! sorry about not being able to revert, now that you know the reason! πŸ™‚

    i can totally relate with this post! kids grow up in a flash, and suddenly they don’t need us around and to help them with stuff… and throwing tantrums! tell me about it! πŸ˜€ but then, like you mentioned, kids are always kids for Mommy…

    good to connect with you here!

    • Hey, that’s ok, welcome here πŸ™‚

      Hai naa!! this girl never let me feed her, she always has to eat on her own. similarly she wants almost everything on her own and bosses me around!!!

  11. They grow up so fast, don’t they! So, Zini loves school and is such a sweet heart with her friends and teachers πŸ™‚
    I think while they want to grow up and become independent fast, we parents want them to remain our little babies for some more time..
    Nice post on ‘independent’ Zini close to Independence day πŸ™‚

    • I didn’t even realize when she grew up!!! Now when i see a new born, i wonder whether Zini was ever this small (But her photos says that she was this small)!!!!
      Hey, thanks, i didn’t realize this independence day connection πŸ™‚

  12. awww! Such a sweet letter and the last line is so so so true!

  13. Parenting is all about transitions! Such a lovely letter to your princess Zini on all the little steps of being independent. God bless her!

  14. hey, I would love it if you would link this post to our Mommy Brain Mixer linky party! Here’s the link: http://momofbigalittlea.blogspot.com/2012/08/andits-here-mommy-brain-mixer.html

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

