Zini, me & life in general

Zini’s Mini Tales

As usual Zini is entertaining us with her antics, and before i forget let me record them!!!

Aise Aise karo…

I am talking to my neighbour A didi, she is asking me about swimming and how i learnt it. So i tell her that little T & her mom P (another neighbour) taught me swimming.

Now, Zini walks in so A didi says, “Muze to Zini sikhayegi swimming, Sikhaogi naa Zini?!” (Zini will teach me swimming, won’t you Zini?)

Zini: Haaaa, aise aise karo (Do like this)*moving her hands in the air*…

And this is how Zini taught swimming to A didi!!!

Aise Aise Gaao..

We are trying to sleep and as usual Zini doesn’t want to sleep. Does all the drama, asks for water, wants the Chadar to cover her already covered bed, then wants the same chadar to cover her…..

So finally, i tell her that i am going to sleep, she can stay awake if she wants to….

Now this makes her want to sleep!!!! And she herself starts singing her sleeping tune (Aaaa, Aaaaa) and tells me “Mummy, aise aise Gaao aur Nina Karao” (Mummy sing like this and make me sleep)!!!

Endabad

There was a time when Zini was fixated on office. Everybody who was out of sight was at office. and everything was done at office.

Now Endabad (Ahmedabad) has replaced office.

So ask her, “Zini Dada Dadi kaha hai?”

Zini: Endabad (Sahi jawab!!!!)

ask now “Aaja Aaji kaha hai?”

Zini: Endabad (Ek aur sahi jawab!!!)

And now “Papa kaha hai?”

Zini: Endabad!!!! (Yeh Galat jawab ho gaya, papa might be in office, travelling or even in bathroom but not in Ahmedabad)

Finally ask her “Hum kaha jaa rahe hai?”

Zini: Endabad (Nooooo….we might be going to school, garden, mall or to a grocery shop, but Zini always thinks that we are going to Endabad!!!)

Dora and Boots

Those lucky ones, who don’t know about Dora, She is a little girl and has a monkey friend named Boots. Together they go on different Adventures hence Dora is called Dora the Explorer!!!!

I bought a few Dora books for Zini where Dora learns to share things, goes to doctor, attends a birthday party etc..

Some of the books have been really helpful, like the one in which she goes to doctor. Now, Zini too doesn’t feel afraid of going to the doctor. And actually manages to say Thank you to the “Achhi Doctor Aunty”!!!!

But there are not so desired effects of these books also, like these:

– She wants to me tell her the stories over and over again!!! as soon as i finish the story, she asks me tell it “Fir Se” (Again)!!!! I tell her these stories like 1000 times a day?!

– What with her love for the Dora books and her current hair style being similar to that of Dora, i said “Zini Dora hai”!!! In return she told me “Mummy Boots hai”!!!

Kem?!?!

Kem is a Gujarati word meaning “Why”…

3 months back my mama, mami and my cousins (his daughter and son) visited us.

So the little cousin of mine, whenever he is upto some mischief and some tells him “Kem?”, he immediately stops the mischief and gives the biggest, nicest smile!!! So just for fun (And for seeing that huge smile), i took to saying “Kem” to him.

Zini remembered this and now uses this “Kem” on us. And even weaves stories about it.

So recently i asked her, what did she do at school.

She said “Kheli- Kheli (Play), Matti matti (Masti Masti – Mischief)”!!!

So, i asked her what did your N Ma’am say?

Zini: N ma’am bole “Kem”!!!

I wonder how her Noida staying N ma’am learnt Gujarati!!!!

Comments on: "Zini’s Mini Tales" (26)

  1. I am one of those lucky ones who doesn’t know about Dora and Boots πŸ™‚ But now I know 😦 But I must admit that the concept of Dora the explorer seems a little intriguing. Why don’t you share some of those stories here as well πŸ˜›

    Destination Infinity

  2. so cute!! lol to her calling you Boots!! πŸ˜€

  3. I was waiting for this post, ZM! Love to read about Zini πŸ™‚

    I had a good laugh reading through the post πŸ˜€

    You know what.. I am a Dora fan!!! (pls pls dont stop visiting my space or block me from here.. I am completely normal :P) I do watch episodes of dora and irritate the other inmates of the house to no end. My dad who doesnt scold me at all, may raise his voice if he sees this little dora on TV πŸ˜€ S goes to the extent of threatening me, if he hears that shrill voice of dora again. But who can stop me.. he he he πŸ˜€ I somehow love this character so much. These days I hardly get time to watch it.

    LOL πŸ˜† on Zini being dora and mummy being boots – smart kid πŸ˜€

    • Arey, you too!!!
      But till you don’t make me tell you Dora stories i am fine πŸ˜‰
      BTW, i too used to watch cartoon in good old days, when we had cable connection at home πŸ™‚
      Smart toh she is!!

  4. LOL at ‘Mummy Boots hai’ πŸ˜€
    Endabad? cute!!
    S also takes her own sweet time to sleep at times and can understand how frustrating it can be to make them sleep..she started singing on her own? acchi bacchi πŸ™‚
    Story books..sigh! Even here, we have to read the same stories again again, I don’t know how many times!
    You might be surprised, but some school teachers, especially at the play schools, know a smattering of many languages, as they get kids speaking various languages and not all kids know English initially. Zini might actually be right that her teacher spoke to her in Gujarathi..

    • Oh S too does the same to you, come Nithvin, hugs to you….
      Arey, no achhi bachhi, even after singing “Aaa Aaa…” for 20 mins, she didn’t sleep…
      And reading the same story again again is a big torture…I just can’t wait for the time when she will start reading on her own and i’ll spared…
      Arey, i am sure her teacher doesn’t speak Gujarati and she doesn’t even know about our Gujarat connection…It’s a story Zini made up…

  5. Haha LOL on “Mummy Boots hai” Seriously ZM it was so much fun reading this πŸ™‚ These kids are full time entertainment once they start speaking πŸ™‚
    Even Cheebu gives a full animated demonstration of swimming πŸ™‚
    I love Zini’s mini tales. Keep them coming more often πŸ™‚
    Lots of love to Zini πŸ™‚

    • Yes, these pint sized people are big on entertainment πŸ™‚
      Cheebu too gives an animated demo of swimming, i am sure it must be very entertaining πŸ˜‰
      Thanks a lot Lifesong πŸ™‚

  6. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    ZM became Boots while cutie pie Zini is Dora

    Visualising all the snippets brings a smile πŸ™‚

  7. hehehehe!!! Kids I tell you, hum sab ke guru hain!!! My Son uses Alibaug for anywhere we go or anything we do.

    And my son also does similar antics while sleeping, anything to postpone it. Ultimately I leave him and say “khud se so”

  8. he he he he .. ok I will do aise aise and jump in the pool , lets see if i can swim he he he

    made me smile , god bless her and may she come up with some more lovely anecdotes for us to have a laugh πŸ™‚

  9. how cute. I loved the ‘aise aise karo’. Engabad too good.

  10. That is cute! Good you are making note of all these cute little things she does and says. It will make a memorable reading when Zini grows up!

  11. Endabad… lol! be happy that she only compared you with boots, the monkey! these days, i’m Saanvis’ (my daughter) cow, sheep, froggie, and what not! πŸ˜€ waise, mujhe agar ‘aise aise’ swimming aa jaati toh baat hi kya thi! haha! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

