Zini, me & life in general

From my Garden…

Well, technically you can’t call it my garden…It’s a small space in my balcony where i have kept a few plants in pots…But still would like to call it a garden πŸ™‚

In Hyderabad, we had enough space to do gardening, but not enough time!!! Still i tried to grow Capsicum (from the seeds given by my neighbour, S uncle). The plants grew, and i could even see some small capsicums!!! But sadly at that point, the plants got some decease and died 😦

I was pretty much heart broken and decided not to do much in the garden…So i went down to maintain a few tulsi plants and growing Dhania pattaΒ occasionally…

Then we shifted back to Ahmedabad for hubby’s MBA and with ZiniΒ occupying my life and time, i forgot all about the plants…

After hubby completed his MBA we moved to Noida…I started blogging and during one blog hop i came across Seema’s blog post about her lovely balcony garden!!! And i got inspired again to start my garden πŸ™‚

So I got some plants and my garden started growing!!! I got growing Organic Tulsi, Kadi patta, Aloevera, Methi, Spinach, radish, rose, Dhania, Mustard, Potatoes, Tomatoes, garlic, chili, Eggplant and Pudina!!! Phew!!!

Some of these experiments became successful and i reaped a decent harvest!!! Some of them marginally successful!!! and some of them flopped 😦

My Tulsi, Kadi Patta, Aloe, Spinach, Mustard, spring garlics were fairly successful!!! While Potatoes and tomatoes disappointed me with low yield…But Radish and Methi (Sparrows ate all the methi seedlings) were the biggest disappointment with no yield at all 😦

But yes let me tell you the potatoes tasted great!! I used them along with the skin and they were perfect πŸ™‚ Also i used my spring garlic while making Undhiyu πŸ™‚

Still waiting to harvest green chili, Pudina, Eggplant and Dhania….Wish me luck….

Home grown mustard greens – made yummy sarson ka saag πŸ™‚

Spinach - going in the yummy paalak paneer :)

Spinach – going in the amazing paalak paneer πŸ™‚

Tomato on the plant!!!

Tomato on the plant!!!

Potatoes, a tomato and my favorite spring garlic!!!!

Potatoes, a tomato and my favorite spring garlic!!!!

Comments on: "From my Garden…" (47)

  1. What a lovely collection u have!! Am planning to do all this when I move to my own space!! WIll take tips from you then!

  2. Wow! That is an amazing harvest to start with πŸ™‚ Good luck to you ZM with the rest of the plants. Looking after these plants must be such a fun and learning experience for Zini too πŸ™‚
    I too tried gardening at home in the past… but when monkeys destroyed my garden every time… I gave up and just tried to keep a tulsi plant. But that keeps dying too because some insects attack 😦 A few weeks back I planted some tomato and chilli seeds … the monkeys have spared them so far thankfully but they are attacked by some insects again 😦
    My happiness knew no bounds however when we spotted some little yellow flowers on the tomato plants a couple of days back… Now fingers crossed

    • Thanks Lifesong πŸ™‚ Zini loves the watering part…I let her water some of the plants and she loves it πŸ™‚
      Monkeys!!! That’s scary…Hey are your Tulsi plants getting white bugs? check under the leaves. They are called mealybugs. If they are causing death of your plants then you will have to completely remove the plants and discard them away from garden. otherwise they may affect other plants also.
      Yaay for the flowers..All the best for the tomatoes πŸ™‚

  3. Super TM, you have got such a green finger πŸ™‚ I would love gardening too, if we were not in this rented space. Add frequent travel to it, my plants die pretty soon. One day, I would have my little garden and I am sure you would share good tips with me πŸ™‚ Talking of harvest, we had a really good yield from our sweet lime plant at my parents, its so exciting to taste the yield of our hard work πŸ™‚

    • Hey GB thanks πŸ™‚
      I am still in learning phase πŸ™‚
      Yes, frequent travelling can kill the plants…Thankfully here and in hyderabad i had good neighbours who took care of my plants whenever i travelled πŸ™‚
      I would be more than happy to share my knowledge, whenever you decide to have your garden πŸ™‚
      Wow, i remember your post about those sweet limes πŸ™‚
      Enjoy GB…

  4. WOW…they look so fabulous..it must be such a satisfying experience to grow your own veggies..I so want to have a small garden in my new home but I also have a feeling that I do not possess a green thumb..I might kill them all 😦 Plus, I’m so lazy……;-)

    • It is really satisfying πŸ™‚
      Now, only if i could grow for our complete requirement πŸ˜‰
      Hey you can employ a gardener if you don’t feel like doing it yourself πŸ™‚

  5. vishalbheeroo said:

    It’s a real education to read about the cultivation. I realize how I am a nought bout vegetable stuffs.
    Cheers
    Vishal

  6. wow. amazing. now that we have shifted to a house with a small balcony i’m also planning to get into gardening. Will get tips from you:-)

  7. wowww is all I can say.. now there is no excuse to anyone who says they don’t have a garden.. My FIL grows many plants in the terrace and waters them religiously twice a day.. πŸ™‚

  8. All I can say is wow, this is quite an amazing feat, ZM. Love all the greens, especially the green garlic. I feel v. v. guilty for bringing a few flower plants home last spring, and abandoning them over the winter:(

    • Yesterday I was going through your old posts and was going to.ask you about the pants…
      Hey n winters I too didn’t care much about the plants…and there winters must b really tough!!!

  9. What a fab harvest that is! You’ve inspired me to do more in my patio. πŸ˜€ I only have a tulsi plant as of now, and we’ve grown coriander in one big box… i’m gonna try some more now! πŸ™‚

  10. WOW ! t2m – this is so inspiring to see. It must be such a great feeling plucking off from your own plants and cooking, no? The tate must be so good.
    Seriously, one of the best things I saw today πŸ™‚ Keep going, you green thumbelina!

    • It is great feeling to grow your food and then cook and eat it πŸ™‚
      Taste was definitely good!! Especially of the potatoes, they tasted great…Sadly the yield of potatoes was low 😦

  11. Wow this is so cool. I am not much of a gardening person but I don’t mind having a few pots of flower now that it’s almost spring here. I get stuck at the basics, which pots to buy what plants to put in them!

    • Springtime and flowers, they go hand in hand πŸ™‚
      I think it’s good to go for local and hardy variety as per your weather zone…So in case you forget to water or fertilize them, they will still do alright…

  12. I am also feeling inspired now…:) lovely greens πŸ™‚

  13. Falls at feet and asks for the green blessings πŸ™‚

    • RM!!! Welcome πŸ™‚
      Green blessings!! But I have killed my share of plants 😦
      I think all of us can take blessings from your mom πŸ™‚

  14. Wow love those green and I must say you have done an awesome job.

  15. Nice!! I don’t know whether you already have posted a pic of your whole garden but I would love to see that!

  16. Awesome awesome job. Cant help but feel jealous πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    I dont have a green thumb, but the in-laws do. We have kadi-patta sprouting now, hoping to see some leafy greens πŸ™‚ I should remember to ask them to plant spring onions, I love them!!

    • Thanks Visha πŸ™‚
      I am not sure, but probably summer is not a good time for spring onions…but you can try, Bangalore has a good weather after all…

  17. you post is an inspiration… so far I am working on my front part of the garden and getting it to become very much in shape… although this is summer… by monsoons plan to get the back yard done which was destroyed after construction last year and then get my organic veggies growing ! hopefully I will be able to do such a post next year πŸ˜€

    • Yaay to that thought πŸ™‚
      Hope your organic veggie garden gives you lot of food and satisfaction πŸ™‚
      If you grow veggies directly on the garden then you will definitely get great results (rather than growing in the pots)…
      All the best πŸ™‚

  18. I have to say, I m envious. As for me I just got two plants post marriage and could not even take good care of them. Though I love greenery, home grown vegetables n flowers but have to admit not much of a gardening person myself.

    • Hey OHW, even i was pretty much like this (and still am at times πŸ™‚ )
      But the joy of seeing the seedlings coming out of seeds and then watching them grow and finally to be able to harvest them kept me going πŸ™‚

  19. Lovely greens! It must be a lot of fun…growing your own veggies and cooking with them. Glad to have chanced upon your space:-) It is inspirational!

  20. OMG! Wow, my garden is nowhere close to yours… Amazing TM… *Stands up and applauds* Glad to have been inspired you.

  21. I am starting my balcony garden with methi and curry leaves. I had already tried chillies and tomatoes. Your post is very inspiring!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

