Zini, me & life in general

I hate TV…..

Some of you already know that we don’t have a cable connection at home…We decided not to have it because we didn’t want Zini to get addicted to the TV!! Even I am prone to TV addiction!! So for everybody’s sanity we decided not to have the menace in our home.. And i saw that my friend Leena had not taken the TV connection at home and was surviving alright, so it seemed doable!!

Technically we have a Tata sky connection, but we don’t recharge it for most of the time…But when my in-laws visit us we recharge it and then starts the assault of TV on me!! From each and every direction!! And they are here, so is the TV!!!

Now you may ask, why am i so irritated by the TV..Then i have a long list..

1st of all, after 5 months of (relative) peace, when the TV starts blaring loudly, it just gives me headache!! I have realized that my ears are now accustomed to the absence of that electronic noise!!

2nd is the kind of programs!! I mean, all the programs that are aired in our drawing room are so offensive and so 18th century!! There is nothing good happening in the lives of the people in those programs. Then women are always seen plotting, then there is this tendency of showing overdose of Sanskar where the ghar ki izzat is attached to the women of the house!! And this izzat is protected by controlling the women, sometimes by even locking them inside a room!! All this is soooo very revolting…. I try to bury myself in a nice P G Wodehouse book, but still this offensive things manage to get into my ears and in my mind, leaving me angry 😦

Also in all the programs about Gujarati families, there is a background score playing “He ji Re”!!! Puh leaze, give us a break!! With this rate i may start hearing this damn “He ji Re” in my mind while talking to my mom 🙄

Then there is this CNBC TV18, my hubby’s favorite channel!! I would have teared my already in danger hair watching it, if there wouldn’t have been Mitali Mukerji on that channel!!!

And let’s not forget Doremon!! Zini is now officially addicted to it (in just 20 days)!!! If there has to be only one reason for  not recharging the connection then this reason  is enough for me… I would rather let her watch Barney and mickey mouse clubhouse on youtube rather than letting her watch Doremon…

And very shamefacedly i’ll have to admit that even i am not left behind…During the time when my in-laws were not around and i had full access to the TV. i had marathon movie sessions!! So i watched ice age, inception (3rd time), Avatar (5th time), Mr Popper’s panguins (2nd time), the hot chick (1.5th times – 1st time i couldn’t watch the whole movie), Mirror Mirror, X Men First class, Johnny English (2nd time), Fantastic four (3rd time) and some more that now i have forgotten about..

So for torturing me, for polluting my surroundings and finally for controlling me, I hate TV…

Comments on: "I hate TV….." (30)

  1. Looks exactly like my thought, we have no Cable for last 6months and life has been do much better, now that my patents are coming I am afraid how we will mange..they are so used to TV..

  2. If only I could disconnect cable at my home I would have a peaceful sleep that night.. Off late I have lost interest in TV reality shows, the very few ones that I used to watch earlier. I am surprised that I am not inclined to any shows these days be it regional or international. Hope it stays like this 🙂

  3. hehhee..Ive just turned into a potato couch and hooked to ma fav channel, NDTV and it’s competitor Headlines Today…I love MTV as well and sitting with lappie and watching the music channel. Last night watched 2 movies on Star Gold..hhee but Hindi soap operas is an absolute no-no just hate them..

  4. That’s a lot of films, clear case of deprivation :P! I too am not a big TV fan, but I am considering watching some ‘really good’ series just for discipline sake. I don’t know if that makes any sense. Need not be Hindi serials…

    • Sorry for the later reply, but you know the reasons 🙂
      Arey, i can watch movies like this for many months. It’s not deprivation. It’s my issue with self control 😦
      You really come across as a disciplined person, you do a lot of stuff and do them well 🙂

  5. I too have started to hate TV so much now TM.. I agree with all your reasons.. especially the loud noise that brings me a headache too. No serial is nice to watch.. its all evil and then sadness filling the living room. Not to mention the addiction. Somehow though, TV only seems to be my companion as I am alone. I do read a lot of books.. but I cant stand the silence of the house with no soul to even talk. So I just let in run so that the noise fills the room. When I go back together with S.. I am so not switching on the TV. For sure.

    • Sorry for such a late reply GB..
      I understand. When i stayed alone i too got addicted to TV. And it was so bad that i would sleep off while watching TV.

  6. You are so right about the fact that kids do get addicted to cartoon channels, cheap comedy and dirty dancing because of TV. And I dislike it to no bounds, and instead of helping the kids not to reach there, I have seen parents (unfortunately including my cousins) encouraging it by making their kid sit in front of the TV, with their fav channel on when they want no disturbance for sometime….. and asking them to tell some stupid joke or dance on the latest dance number when guests visit them or vice versa. The kids don’t even realize the meaning of the joke they have just shared, they think it makes them popular because people laugh at that and I don’t understand how parents do not curtail that situation.

    And yes the dearth of TV programs showing our real life, showing us is a reason enough not to like it. Who anyways put up so much make up, constantly keep plotting, wear heavy designer sarees, and sleep in them too on satin bedsheets….Just Who?

    Though I can’t do away with TV as well, but for me its the Food Travel shows, some dance show, some lifestyle shows, all movie channels and for the husband it is the sports and movies.

    • Sorry for such a later reply OHW…
      I can totally understand your cousins. Sometimes kids get on our nerves so much that we feel like plonking them in front of the TV. This is one more reason we have avoided having the cable connection. So we won’t get tempted to make her watch TV while taking time off.
      Seriously, who sleeps wearing a heavy designer saree in a satin bedsheet?
      Oh, before Zini we too used dig travel shows and food shows like highway on my plate, zaika india ka, lonely planet and perilous journey. We were also fans of aircrash investigation and jailed abroad. And of course Roadies.

  7. And that’s why we too don’t even have a TV at home. 🙂 The sole reason is to avoid TV-related conflicts and fights!

  8. lol!!! Arnav is fond of Chota Bheem!! I agree with you that TV can be addictive but somehow I am not in favor of cutting it off all together!!! Dunno why!!!

    When my parents were here I watched this serial called “ek hazaaron main meri behna something” it was such a pathetically regressive & stupid serial that I cannot tell you.

    • I understand your point of view. Doing everything in moderation is a good idea. But problem with me is that i can’t do things in moderation. So rather than overdoing it, we decided to cut it off 🙂
      I sometimes wonder, why people watch these serials?! Even when their ideology doesn’t match with serial, they find it entertaining?!? How??!

  9. At least Zini is not watching shinchan.. It can be funny, but that cartoon is not meant for kids.

    Saas bahu dramas drain the life out.. There are way better shows on TV.. Mine are mostly on Star world or Zee cafe though..

    • Hey, sorry for such a late reply…
      Oh, shinchan is a big no no here. I have heard so many parents complaining about that program that i scream “Change” when that program starts.

  10. TV is a life saver for me when I go back to the lonely house. I just switch it on to kill the lonelyness.
    I don’t watch it though when AV is at home 🙂

    • Hey sorry for such a late reply…
      I can totally understand, at one point of time (when i was staying alone) i was heavily addicted to TV. i used sleep off watching TV!!

  11. Now you know why I said ‘tata’ to the TV 😉 😉

  12. Recently when my colleague who shifted to their new house told that she has not shifted TV from there , I was surprised , I mean I was numbing WT… Reading saved her from boredom she said ! When I was going through your post , those thoughts came into my mind all over again , my collegaue repeating here again, But in a way that too good , espcly if you have a kid who look up to you for everything in her life ..Hmm I should try it out some day ..A day w/o cable connection 🙂

    • Sorry for such a later reply Sangeetha. Welcome here..
      Try it out, see if you like it. But make it at least a week without cable connection. We feel that we get a lot of extra time due to absence of TV!!

  13. Lol Techie2Mom – My first time here :)…Absolutely hillarious post :)..Even I can go on for days without watching TV but it can be really addictive at times..I remember I once did a Big Bang Theory marathon during a weekend.. I thought I had become a couch potato in thopse 2 days..

  14. ROTFL Pankti… Loved reading this post dear.. Yes, TV can be quite addictive at times and makes one lazy .. Since past couple of months, even I’ve restricted myself to watching only on Saturdays or Sundays and hope to stick by it in the future too.. Hugsxx

    • Thanks Nilu 🙂
      It’s such a great thing that you are able to control your TV watching. I am hopeless in that case hence have to completely ban it from our home 😦
      Hugs…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

