Zini, me & life in general

Birthday!!

Thankfully today I don’t have to think about what to write!! Today is my birthday and I’ll write about it πŸ™‚Β Yes we are accepting wishes and gifts today πŸ™‚

At my parents’ place birthdays have set rituals about them!! On birthdays, Shiro will be made in the morning. And any other sweet that the birthday girl/boy favored. On my birthday it was always Vedhami and Batakavada or patra!! Yeah the most important part of the birthday celebration was food!! And a new dress too!! Wearing a new dress too was part of birthday ritual!!

And in the evening, we would have friends over for celebration. Chips, cake and gulab jamn were the fixed part of the menu!! And we had Bhaji pao or chana puri as the main course!! Sometime Idli Sambar too featured on the menu!! Birthdays were very exciting days!! A lot wishes (& gifts) from everybody!! A license to act as a brat (nobody scolds you on your birthday πŸ˜‰ ) and all the special treatment!! Ah, such joys!!

When hubby and I started dating, birthdays meant mushy cards and mushier gifts, I still have some of those gifts and all the cards with me!!

We also celebrated birthdays in office with cake, card and gift!! And of course I could leave for home early on that day!!

Did I say I love birthday?

But this time, the birthday is a little different!! I suddenly feel all grown up (No, I am not turning 30 this year). The day is just like any other day with regular chores!! And I don’t feel the need to do anything different!!

Probably I should make vedhami today…

So what is your birthday ritual like?

Comments on: "Birthday!!" (28)

  1. First things first – Happy birthday TM πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Now let me go back and read the post πŸ™‚

  2. Pls do prepare Vedhami and enjoy yourself TM πŸ™‚ And later post pictures ok?

  3. Happy happy birthday T2M. Enjoy the day.
    For me too, though people around me try to make the day special, birthdays doesn’t feel like birthdays any more. Hugs.

  4. happieeee birthday πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ so you baked anything special today πŸ™‚

    • Thanks πŸ™‚
      I am baking a cake, but it’s not for me, it’s for an order πŸ™‚
      But I made Vedhami for me just the way mom used to make for my birthdays πŸ™‚

      • Good and great πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ hope every one tasted Vedhami πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ i just want to have a masala poli instead of sweet one πŸ˜‰

      • Me, my MIL and my friends enjoyed the vedhami. Hubby doesn’t like the cardamom flavor in it and Zini is suspicious of every new thing that I offer her, can’t blame her though πŸ˜‰

  5. Many more happy returns of the day and happy eating. If possible share the recipe πŸ™‚

  6. Happy Birthday t2m :). Go ahead and make that vedhami ( what’s that btw) and feel special. Have a great day ahead.

  7. Wish you a very Happy Birthday ZM! Hope you had a great day πŸ™‚

  8. Happy wala budday and keep rocking. Have a fab year::)

  9. happy happy birthday t2m.. the birthday at my parent’s place was also almost same sa how you described… missing those good old days.. hooe you made Vedhami today.. wishing you a wonderful year ahead..

  10. Belated Birthday Wishes T2M πŸ˜€

  11. Happy happy Birthday πŸ™‚ I hope you have a great year ahead! This year was my 30th, and as usual it went by without a hoot! lol! I LOVE birthdays… I LOVE surprises too… so surprise gifts, cake et all are something I used to hope for/// But my Hubs is a totally opposite, he doesn’t *get* it :-/ So yeah… he will ask me IF he should get a cake and take me out for eating or buy food from outside :-/ nothing else!
    But I do think… you should make something special for yourself nevertheless πŸ™‚ and ry and enjoy the day.

  12. Happy birthday T2M. Wishing you an amazing year !!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

