Zini, me & life in general

Archive for January 24, 2014

Birthday!!

Thankfully today I don’t have to think about what to write!! Today is my birthday and I’ll write about it πŸ™‚Β Yes we are accepting wishes and gifts today πŸ™‚

At my parents’ place birthdays have set rituals about them!! On birthdays, Shiro will be made in the morning. And any other sweet that the birthday girl/boy favored. On my birthday it was always Vedhami and Batakavada or patra!! Yeah the most important part of the birthday celebration was food!! And a new dress too!! Wearing a new dress too was part of birthday ritual!!

And in the evening, we would have friends over for celebration. Chips, cake and gulab jamn were the fixed part of the menu!! And we had Bhaji pao or chana puri as the main course!! Sometime Idli Sambar too featured on the menu!! Birthdays were very exciting days!! A lot wishes (& gifts) from everybody!! A license to act as a brat (nobody scolds you on your birthday πŸ˜‰ ) and all the special treatment!! Ah, such joys!!

When hubby and I started dating, birthdays meant mushy cards and mushier gifts, I still have some of those gifts and all the cards with me!!

We also celebrated birthdays in office with cake, card and gift!! And of course I could leave for home early on that day!!

Did I say I love birthday?

But this time, the birthday is a little different!! I suddenly feel all grown up (No, I am not turning 30 this year). The day is just like any other day with regular chores!! And I don’t feel the need to do anything different!!

Probably I should make vedhami today…

So what is your birthday ritual like?